Pippa Park Crush at First Sight (Paperback)

Pippa Park Crush at First Sight By Erin Yun Cover Image
$9.99
Likely 2-7 Business Days; Some Exceptions

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Pippa Park series.

Description


"Charming and Entertaining" - Common Sense Media

Join Pippa Park as she juggles friendships, peer pressure, crushes, and family in the sequel to the relatable drama-filled middle school book Pippa Park Raises Her Game. Perfect for fans of The Baby-Sitters Club, Ruby Lost and Found, and Kelly Yang's Front Desk Series.

Korean American Pippa Park picks up right where she left off . . . trying to balance basketball, school, friends, working at the struggling family laundromat, and fitting in. Eliot, her math tutor—and the cutest boy at school—is finally paying attention to her. And Marvel—her childhood friend—is making her required volunteering much more interesting. But things with the Royals, her new friends and teammates who rule the school, still feel a bit rocky. Especially because Caroline, a head Royal, would like nothing more than to see Pippa fail.

So when Pippa is faced with hosting the annual Christmas Eve party that could make or break her social life, how can she say no? Will Pippa make enough money to cover the costs while juggling crushes and everything else? With courage and determination, Pippa sets out to host the party, find the perfect dress, pick the right boy, and stay true to her real self.

GREAT FOR READERS AGES 9–12
Now an AR Quiz!
Extra Content in the Book includes:
Author Q&A, Book Club Questions, and Glossary of Korean Words.

Get Caught Reading Poster Pick! (2023)
Cybils Awards Middle Grade Fiction nominee (2023)

Bestselling AAPI and Girls Sports Series
Perfect for the School Classroom or Library!
Complimentary Guides: AAPI Discussion and Anti-Racism Resource
Common Core Language Arts Guide
Tween Book Club with printable activities
Includes word games, make-your-own-book playlist, fortune teller, and discussion questions
The Series is a Contemporary Reimagining of Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

About the Author


Erin Yun grew up in Frisco, Texas. She attended New York University and received her MA in creative writing at Cambridge. Erin is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. She developed the Pippa Park Author Program, an interactive writing workshop, which she has conducted in person and virtually at schools, libraries, and bookstores. Yes, she used to play basketball as a middle grader!

Praise For…


heartfelt story...has broad appeal and fleshed-out characters who all share in the limelight…for folks who like to read about triumphant underdogs.
— Booklist

Readers who missed the first installment, Pippa Park Raises Her Game won't have any trouble picking up on this volume. It completely stands alone.
— School Library Connection

Pippa explores the highs and lows of friendships and first crushes in this well-crafted sequel to Pippa Park Raises her Game. ..VERDICT This warm-hearted, feel-good series continues to realistically explore one Korean American girl’s middle school experience in a relatable way.
— School Library Journal

This charming and entertaining sequel perfectly captures the awkwardness of middle school...tweens will learn the importance of teamwork, communication, and perseverance and understand that it's OK to ask for help.
— Common Sense Media

This is solid, classic middle-school drama fare that benefits from the interesting ways Pippa's family background is developed. An engaging variation on a familiar theme.
— Kirkus Reviews

[The book] will have a special appeal to young readers with an interest in peer pressure and friendshipvery highly recommended for elementary school, middle school, and community library
— Midwest Book Review

In the sequel to Pippa Park Raises Her Game, Pippa continues her efforts to fit in…A relatable entertaining read for middle schoolers.
— Story Monsters Ink


Product Details
ISBN: 9781944020903
ISBN-10: 194402090X
Publisher: Fabled Films Press
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Pippa Park