Casi alcanzar todo (Barely Missing Everything) (Paperback)

Casi alcanzar todo (Barely Missing Everything) Cover Image
By Matt Mendez, Juan Tovar (Translated by)
Email or call for price
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


Now available in Spanish!

“There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña, this heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter.

Juan tiene grandes planes.

Va a ser el muchacho de El Paso que salió adelante, va a conseguir esa beca de basquetbol para ir a la universidad y va hacer algo de su vida… algo mejor que la sarta de novios nefastos de Fabi, su mamá. Sólo necesita hacerlo realidad.

El mejor amigo de Juan, JD, también tiene planes.

Algún día va a ser cineasta, como Tarantino o Del Toro (no Spielberg). Tiene una cámara y tiene pasión. ¿Qué más se necesita?

Fabi ya no tiene planes.

Cuando te embarazas a los dieciséis, descubres que los planes no siempre salen y que hay algunas cosas que no puedes anticipar…

Como un altercado con la policía. Como la implosión de tu familia. Como un pasado que regresa a perseguirte. Como el temor de que tú, tu hijo y todos los que amas no van a alcanzar todo…no van a alcanzar nada.

About the Author


Like his characters, Matt Mendez grew up in central El Paso, Texas. He received an MFA from the University of Arizona and is the author of the short story collection Twitching Heart. He lives with his wife and two daughters in Tucson, Arizona. Barely Missing Everything is his debut young adult novel. You can visit him at MattMendez.com.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534461550
ISBN-10: 1534461558
Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Publication Date: April 28th, 2020
Pages: 336
Language: Spanish