Short & Skinny (Paperback)

Short & Skinny Cover Image
$12.99
Likely 1-5 Days; Some Exceptions

Description



New from syndicated comic strip artist Mark Tatulli comes a full-color middle grade graphic novel that centers on Mark's own experience in the summer after seventh grade.

As a middle schooler, Mark finds himself on the smaller side of the physical spectrum--being short AND skinny has really wreaked havoc on his confidence. So to end his bullying woes and get the girl--or at least the confidence to talk to the girl--he starts to explore bulking up by way of the miracle cures in the backs of his comics. But his obsession with beefing up is soon derailed by a new obsession: Star Wars, the hottest thing to hit the summer of 1977. As he explores his creative outlets as well as his cures to body image woes, Mark sets out to make his own stamp on the film that he loves.

Mark Tatulli's graphic novel debut is a humorous and heartfelt take on body-image, finding a creative outlet, and spending a summer in the 70's.

About the Author


Mark Tatulli is the creator of the syndicated comic strip Lio, and has worked as an animator and television producer. He has also written the Desmond Pucket series of middle grade novels. He lives in Washington Township, New Jersey.

Praise For…


Praise for Short & Skinny:








"Tatulli compellingly depicts how an object of culture can galvanize genuine emotions. A natural choice for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Jeffrey Brown's Jedi Academy series."

Booklist




"Tatulli's story shares a positive message about dedication and overcoming obstacles through imagination and creativity. A story with easy appeal for fans of coming-of-age adventures and Star Wars."—Kirkus Reviews




"Set in the 1970s, this account of comic strip artist Tatulli's awkward youth will resonate with readers.... The clean, straightforward drawings and smooth flow of the panels make this a strong choice."—School Library Journal




"We get to see the struggles of a typical middle school student and how he works for his achievements and success despite the odds... [it] would appeal to fans of Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid."—School Library Connection

"Mark's winning resilience contributes to making his embarrassing misadventures goofy yet relatable. The dynamic, cartoonish panels... show authentic emotions."—Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316440516
ISBN-10: 0316440515
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 16th, 2018
Pages: 256
Language: English